The 150 acre Provincial Camp and Picnic site was first operated in 1967; it is on the East side of the St. Peter’s Canal. It offers 56 campsites, 22 open, 8 partially wooded, and 23 wooded, located on a picturesque hillside. There is a picnic area and beach offered for day use as the park borders the Atlantic Ocean. Visitors to the park may also enjoy a hike to the top of Mt. Grenville via a footpath trail.
The MacAskill House Museum is the restored birthplace of noted marine photographer, Wallace MacAskill. The aim of the society is to preserve the memory of this talented native son, and to display the best of his works, both in photography and artifacts, in the setting where he grew up and where his interests were nurtured It is also the society’s aim to preserve a typical home of the 19th and early 20th century in rural Cape Breton, including furnishings and a reflection of life during this time period. The museum includes a collection of over one hundred of W.R. MacAskill’s pictures, most in original frames; books and several craft artifacts designed and made by him; and a modest but growing collection of cameras of the past 100 years.
Located on the west side of St. Peter’s Canal the Nicolas Denys Museum was built to commemorate the valiant efforts of the early settlers of the area in helping to make a nation in this vast wilderness. Of the many capable and hard working men and women who chose to settle here, the efforts of Nicolas Denys were the most out standing. It is most fitting that the museum is named in his honour. The museum contains artifacts identified with the Mi’Kmaw and the early French and British. It houses a small reference library of the history of this area and all of Cape Breton Island.
Housing mounts of many different local species of wildlife, and artifacts used in housekeeping and farming.
This canal has probably the longest building record in the British Empire. It was first discussed in 1825 in the Provincial General Assembly but was not commenced until 1854. Work was suspended in 1856 and it was not started anew until 1865. After four years, it was finished in 1869. The advent of bigger boats required it to be enlarged and this meant new constructions in 1875 with a completions date of 1881. The next need for change came in 1912 when the canal was widened to its present size and completed in 1917. In August, 1969, the 100th Anniversary of the opening of the canal was observed.” is in the library.
The St. Peter’s Coastal Trail is an extension of the trail system within Battery Provincial Park that crosses the locks into National Park and St. Peter’s Bay. The trailhead is located at the Atlantic Ocean end of the St. Peter’s Canal., accessible by Toulouse St or Denys St. The trail is a converted railway bed that runs for 3 km along the shore of St. Peter’s Bay to River Tillard. It provides for easy walking and access up to the main street and shopping community.
The unique ecosystem of the Bras d’Or Lake and its watershed was designated as a United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) Biosphere region in 2011. The designation recognizes the respectful relationship between humans and the rest of the natural environment. Biosphere regions around the world are showcases for best practices related to agriculture, aquaculture and development which minimize environmental impacts; places where people and nature are working in harmony. UNESCO Biospheres promote the relationships among a healthy environment, a healthy society and a healthy economy. The Bras d’Or Lake Biosphere Association (BLBRA) is a group of volunteers focused on promoting a viable future in a special place for generations to come.